Missouri Forage and Grassland Council

National Grazing Lands Coalition

The Missouri Forage and Grassland Council (MFGC) National Grazing Lands Coalition (NatGLC) is an organization consisting of farmers, ranchers, educators, scientists, conservationists, industries and government agencies with a common interest in forages. MFGC/NatGLC promotes the efficient use of forages through a variety of research, education and service programs.

Forages are vitally important to Missouri for a multitude of reasons. More than half of the land area in the state is in forages. Two-thirds or more of the feed for livestock is made up of forages. Missouri forages provide food and shelter for wildlife, greatly reduce soil erosion and protect water quality.

Agenda for Small Ruminant Workshop!
April 6th
Registration 12:00-1:00
Hands On Fencing Demo

April 7th
Registration 8:00-8:45

Opening Remarks 8:45-9:00

Producer Panel 9:00-10:00

Break 1000-10:15

Producer Panel Q&A 10:15-11:30

Break 11:30-12:00

Lunch 12:00-1:00

Travel to Busby Farm

Busby Farm Event

Travel to Markaway Farm

Markaway Farm Event

Wrap Up at Markaway Farm

2021 GS list PDF download

2021 Grazing Schools

BY REGION

CENTRAL REGION

Osage County

September TBD

Osage SWCD

573-897-3797

 

Rolla

Phelps Co. Courthouse

June 16-18

Nathan Bilke

nathan.bilke@usda.gov

660.654.4576

Gatlin Bunton

buntong@missouri.edu

573.775.2135

 

Wurdack Grazing School

MU Wurdack Research Center

September 22-24

164 Bales Road

Cook Station, Missouri 65449

Nathan Bilke

nathan.bilke@usda.gov

660-654-4576

Gatlin Bunton

buntong@missouri.edu

573-775-2135

 

Vienna Grazing School

May 10-12

Knights of Columbus Hall

206 6th Street

Vienna, Missouri 65582

Amy Neier

amy.neier@swcd.mo.gov

573-422-3342

Sandy Stratman

573-422-3342

 

NORTHWEST REGION

Location: University of Missouri Hundley

Whaley Research Farm

Albany, Missouri.

Date: June 22-24

Jim Humphrey

Humphreyjr@missouri.edu

 

 

SE REGION

Jackson County

June 1-3

Anthony Ohmes

ohmesg@umsystem.edu

 

Farmington

August 31-Sept. 2

Anthony Ohmes

ohmesg@umsystem.edu

 

 

NW CENTRAL REGION

Pettis County

June 9-11

Gene Schmitz

schmitze@missouri.edu

 

Cooper County

TBD

Gene Schmitz

schmitze@missouri.edu

 

Lafayette County

TBD

Gene Schmitz

schmitze@missouri.edu

 

 

SW CENTRAL REGION

Benton County

August 24-26

Gene Schmitz

Tina Dubalan

tina.dubalan@swcd.mo.gov

660.547.2351

 

 

MSU STUDENTS ONLY

 

Missouri State

July 26-30

Will McClain

 

 

 

SW REGION

Dallas County

Evening Classes

May 4, 6, 10, 11, 15

Debbie Henderson

debbie.henderson@swcd.mo.gov

417.345.2312 x3

 

Mount Vernon

May 25-27

Eldon Cole & Tim Schnakenberg

schnakenbergc@missouri.edu

colee@missouri.edu

417.466.2148

 

Neosho

June 8-10

Tracy White

tracy.white@swcd.mo.gov

417.451.1007 x3

 

Crane

April 27-29

Melissa White

melissa.white@swcd.mo.gov

417.723.8389

 

Stockton

September 27-29

Stephanie Auffert

stephanie.auffert@swcd.mo.gov

417.276.3388 x3

 

Springfield

September 14-16

will.rhodes@mo.nacdnet.net

417.831.5246 x3

 

Greenfield

September 1-3

Jill Scheidt

scheidtj@missouri.edu

417.682.3579

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SOUTH CENTRAL

 

West Plains (Spring)

April 14-16

Howell Co. Extension

417.256.2391

 

Hartville

June 22-23

Carol Ellis

carol.ellis@swcd.mo.gov

417.741.6195 x3

 

Alton

May 11-13

Oregon Co. Extension

417.778.7490

 

Houston (Summer)

July 21-23

Texas Co. Extension

417.967.4545

 

Gainesville

August 11 – 13

Ozark Co. Extension

417.679.3525

 

West Plains (Fall)

October 4-6

Howell Co. Extension

417.256.2391

 

Houston (Fall)

September 15-17

Texas Co. Extension

417.967.4545

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

NORTHEAST REGION

 

Schuyler County

June 11-12

Valerie Tate

tatev@missouri.edu

660.895.5123

Darla Campbell

campbelld@missouri.edu

660.457.3469

 

Ralls County

August 26-28

Lucas Brass

lucas.brass@usda.gov

573.985.8611

Robert Conley

robert.conley@usda.gov

573.633.2211

 

Clark County

September 13-15

Jacky Martin

Jacky.martin@swcd.mo.gov

660.727.2955

Brenda Schreck

schreckb@missouri.edu

573.767.5273

 

Linn County

October 6-8

Valerie Tate

tatev@missouri.edu

660-895-5123

Robert Conley

robert.conley@usda.gov

573-633-2211

 

 

 

 

 

The Mid America Grassland Contest for 2021 has been cancelled. With the current policies in place with the committee members employers with the pandemic the committee felt like it was the best interest to go ahead and make the decision to cancel Mid America this year. The committee’s goal currently is to be able to host our district and state contest this coming fall. The committee is looking forward to start fresh for the 2022 grassland contests. If you have any questions, feel free to reach out to Kim Schroeder at 660-973-1067 or at Kimberly.schroeder@usda.gov.